raya
Assalamualaikum and good morning everyone.
Rasa macam dah lambat nak ucap tapi hakak peduli ape.
Selamat hari raya peace XD
Sekarang sudah pun lepas raya aidilfitri.
Apa cite korangs?
Kita orangs okays jers.
alhamdulillah, nineteen years beraya dgn family. Belum ada husbeng lagi so kita still beraya dgn mama abah and
adik.
i was talking to a friend and it just got me flasback-ing to
the first raya after i 'berhijrah' dgn menjatuhkan tudung or melabuhkan tudung
and jaga my aurat.
first raya lepas i berhijrah, i wasn't that aware of the
mahram & non-mahram thing, and went ahead with salam and hug all relatives
i have. it didn't occur to me that i had to jaga not only my aurat, but my
skinship with others.
so, when i realised this important fact, i tried to
implement it by avoiding salaming my uncles and cousins who are my non-mahram.
it wasn't easy, i tell yahh .
we're so used to salaming each other and stuff, that when i
tried avoiding it, it looked as if i was avoiding them. my bad though, i didn't
know a subtler way of not accepting handshakes, so i say my "Selamat Hari
Raya!" and run off quickly in a circle. because i don't know where else to
go coz sometimes during these raya visits, we just can't run off to bathrooms,
or whoever's rooms every time someone comes in, get what i mean? Haha
it was so awkward in those early implementation phase.
but alhamdulillah now, all my cousins and uncles are aware
of my principles, so they don't extend their hands anymore.
and then there's my future husband's side of the family.
i wear tudung all the time when i'm at my in-laws. actually,
even at my parent's house i pakai tudung. it used to be hot but i've gotten so
used to it that kalau tak pakai, rasa cam rimas. haha!
so anyway, the same thing happened with my in-laws. i mean
the uncles and cousins part. i was the first menantu ever kot dalam level anak
buah for the uncles and aunties, so i guess they weren't aware of the no-salam
prinsip i have.
Memang belum kawin but we will sambut hari raya together. Family kau datang rumah aku and family aku
datang rumah kau amacam ? haha
again, it was awkward at first, but alhamdulillah now, semua
dah tau je.
no matter which kampung we go back to, either mine or
aspidos's, i have to tutup aurat all the time, except kalau dapat bilik.
and in those early days, people would tell me that it's okay
to take of my tudung and wear short sleeve tees because we're all family.
it was hard.
and it's hard because even yang pakai tudung bukak tudung or
pakai short sleeves.
i bukan nak burukkan sesiapa! i'm just telling you that,
yes, it's hard at first to taichi the handshakes, the hugs, and people's
perception (if they have any) of you.
the handshakes especially sebab bila uncle kita yang kasi
duit raya, mesti diorang expect kita salam kan? ada yang memang dah tau and
kisah pasal mahram/non mahram ni.
tapi ada yang tau tapi tak kisah, and ada yang tak tau.
just do it anyway.
try to stop yourself from extending your hand for a
handshake.
try to take the duit raya without handshaking your uncles or
male cousins.
try to wear tudung and long sleeve tees (and long
pants/skirts duhh) anyway when it's hot and people tell you that "it's
ok".
try to wear shoes everywhere so that you're in your socks
all day.
how i did it might not be the best way:
i take the angpow, put my hands behind me, bow my head and
tell them "Selamat Hari Raya, Maaf Zahir & Batin, *insert awesome
speech on forgiveness for my faults etc*".
so far it worked.
but i bet there are other ways to do it. i think i saw
videos of it too!
i know this post should've been up before raya, but you know
how Ramadhan is.
Instagram was the way to go. hahaha! =p
it doesn't have to start during raya though. anytime pun
boleh start all this no salam thing. so there's always time to change and stick
to your principles.
inshaAllah you'll do fine, and inshaAllah it'll get easier
=)
All the best!
Comments